SKAT protesters reaffirmed their commitment to the abolition of the tolls at the annual general meeting at the weekend.

Members of Skye and Kyle Against Tolls agreed to have the organisation's accounts independently audited to stop problems which occured in previous years following the meeting at Tigh na Sgire in Portree. They went on to elect office-bearers to serve for the year 2000.

Ron Shapland was elected unopposed to continue as SKAT chair, while John Campbell and Andy Anderson will serve as vice-chairs following the amendment of the constitution to allow the election of two vice-chairs.

Brian Forehand was elected unopposed as treasurer and Myrna Scott Moncrieff was elected unopposed as general and press secretary.

A programme of members' suggestions as to the best way forward in the campaign to achieve a toll-free bridge is being drawn up.

Back to Skye Bridge News Index or the Skye Bridge Main Page

Copyright Ray Shields, 1999.

Most recent revision, 02 February 2000