2nd March, 2006.

149. BUSINESS BROUGHT FORWARD BY THE PROVOST AS A MATTER OF URGENCY

The Provost agreed, in terms of Standing Order 14(b), that in light of the Scottish Executive announcement of 1st March, 2006 on the future of road charges in Scotland which would leave the Tay and Forth Road bridges as the only bridges subject to tolls and to allow the Council to respond as a matter of urgency, the following motion be considered at the meeting.

<u>Motion</u>

Councillor A. McGovern, seconded by Councillor M. Rumney, moved as follows:-

"Firstly, that Fife Council and Dundee City Council lead a campaign to remove tolls on the Forth and Tay Bridges. Secondly, that we actively seek the support of the people of Fife and Dundee in our campaign. Thirdly, that we actively seek the support of all public and representative bodies in Fife and Dundee and fourthly, that we seek the support of all MSPs, MPs and all of Scotland's Councils."

Amendment

Councillor E. Riches, seconded by Councillor A. Martin, moved, as an amendment:-

"That a full strategic investigation be carried out covering the whole of the east of Scotland into all issues which arise including -

- the need for, and effect of, new public transport
- the case for a new or replacement bridge
- how any proposals would be funded
- whether or not tolls would be necessary"

Vote

It was agreed that the vote be taken by calling the roll.

For the Amendment - 9

Councillors S. Black, T. Brett, E. Gunstone, J.A. Liston, G. McMullan, A. Martin, E. Riches, James P. Simpson and J. Tolson.

For the Motion - 56

Councillors W. Aitken, D. Arnott, F. Ballantyne, H. Blyth, W. Brand, J. Brennan, A. Brown, P. Callaghan, J. Cameron, W. Clarke, I. Connelly, J. Connelly, T. Dair, M. Doig, P. Douglas, G. Duff, D. Edward, R. Edwards, P. Grant, T. Gunn, E. Jardine, G. Kay, W. Kay, A. Keddie, M. Kennedy, A. Kenney, C. Latto, G. Leslie, A. Lowe, A. McGovern, J. Mackenzie, A. Maxwell, F. Melville, K. Morrison, A. Paterson, A. Patey, J. Philp, F. Purdon, S. Randall, A. Ritchie, A. Rodger, D. Rougvie, M. Rumney, W. Sangster, A. Sawers, M. Scott-Hayward, John Simpson, A. Soper, M. Taylor, A. Thomson, D. Torrance, A. Watters, M. Whitehead, L. Wood, M. Woods and R. Young.

Decision

The Council agreed in terms of the motion.